Returning to Intertextuality – retelling the story of Nabokov’s The Eye.

The reflections, mirrors, third, and first person’s narrative.

‘I begin with my body as you do with yours. It contains everything I am. I look downwards over my knees to my feet and then further downwards at my breasts and then across at my collarbone from shoulder to shoulder. This is not bleak, this is everything I am . ‘ (Couani and Brooks, 1883, p.63, quoted in Somerville, 1999)

An interesting use of the word bleak, as of land lacking vegetation and inhospitable, even charmless as the English dictionary states. This is not me, I am more than that.   Reconciliation, dialogue between oneself. The voice of the author and interpretation of it is changing, we are lo longer in this labyrinth, we are now in the stage to accept and be accepted.

‘I do not exist: there exist but the thousand of mirrors that reflect me… And then will come the day when the last person who remembers me will die. A fetus in reverse, my image, too, will dwindle and die within that last witness of crime I committed by the mere fact of living’ (p.113)

Leave a Reply

